Badulla District is the capital of Uva Province. It is bounded by the districts of Monaragalla and Rathnapura on the East and South, by Ampara and Kandy district on the North and by NuwaraEliya and Rathnapura on west. According to climatic and geographical characteristic, the district is divided in to two portions as upper region and lower region. Its administrative structure consist of the Baduluoya, Loggaloya, Mahaweli ganga, Maduruoya which flow north wards, Gal oya eastwards and Kumbukkanoya, Kirinduoya and Walawe Ganga south wards. 

Badulla District covers an extent of land area approximately 2861 square Kilometer and Inland water way of 34 square Kilo meter. Administratively this District has 15 Divisional Secretary divisions with 844,000 midyear population estimates in 2015.

 Five Identifiable climatic zones are identified in this area such as Dry Zone Low country, Intermediate low country, Intermediate mid country, Intermediate up country and wet zone. Eight major groups of soils have identified in this district. According to the geological and climatic characteristics, soil groups representing the wet zone are widely distributed in the Badulla District. Agricultural related farming plays major role in this region.  Tea, Vegetable and Paddy are widely cultivated in Badulla District.

Mountain ranges, dissected plateaus, scarps, faults defiles and narrow alleys are the special morphological features of Badulla District. Forest resources in this District play a significant role in the protection of the environmental system. The total natural forest cover found is about 55,945 ha which approximately 24.2% of the land area.

Doowa temple, Mahiyangana temple, Muthiyanganaya temple and Bogoda Bridge are the famous archaeological sites in Badulla District.


No. of Divisional Secretariat Divisions


No. of Municipal Councils


No. of Urban Councils


No. of Grama Niladari Divisions


No. of Villages



Contact Us

Recent Posts